Don’t Bb, don’t B#, just B a Music Librarian

News of the week!

I’ve 87.36% decided to focus my efforts and my studies on Music Librarians. There are 9 reasons for this:

  1. I really like music. Especially Classical Music.
  2. I really like music libraries. They smell like books and books smell good.
  3. I have a B.Mus in voice, and as such have studied not only music, but Italian, German and French. These are languages that come in handy when you are a music librarian.
    • (fact: in the music library world you are really called on to speak six languages: Italian, German, French, English, Music and Bibliographic Authority control. And if your library uses MARC you have to speak that too, so 7. And If you count LC….)
  4. I also played cello and piano so I am familiar with instrumental music/issues and needs of performers and conductors of instrumental music as well as vocal.
  5. I also dabbled in Theater and Ballet so that gives me an even broader background which is nothing but a good thing in the age of “let’s put these 5 departments together and call it one subject library”
  6. I know a ridiculous amount about voice repertoire.
  7. I would then have not wasted a lot of money and time getting a MM in Music Ed because it would be suddenly worthwhile.
  8. I’m not afraid of numbers or computers like many other soprano type people are.
  9. I think I would be a wicked awesome Music Librarian.

I was initially cautious, mostly just because I had some bad experiences in my own years in music school. But then I thought, “I could make someone else’s music school experience AMAZING!!” and that made me super happy.

Plus, the more I read about it, the more I think about it, the better the idea sounds to me. Just today I was talking about the paper I wrote about John Cage’s 4’33” and the copyright issues that can arise from that with some fellow Library Students, and I thought– this is pretty cool! I can speak about this with authority because I know stuff about music, and now I know stuff about copyright too (not enough yet, but that’s a whole other story). Also as I’m picking my topics for my final papers for my classes I am most drawn to topics and issues within the music librarian field.

Library school is kind of the Island of Misfit Toys. We all come from disciplines where we didn’t quite fit in (otherwise we would have stayed in those disciplines) in search of a new land full of new posibility. One of the hardest things for me as a performance major was being out of touch with the “academic” and book-y world. I love books. And Information. And Books about information. And music. And books about music. And Information about music. And Books about information about music. And…

Leave a Reply

