HLS Day in the Life Day 3

Continuing the adventures of one fab library school student.

Class

Today I had my “Resources for YA” class, which is my favorite. Basically I *have* to read a bunch of YA books and then talk about them with a bunch of other intelligent people who also like books. Win!!! Our topic today was “Sexuality and Sexual Orientation” and, like a good queer, I was presenting. Our assigned books were Oddly Normal: One Family’s Struggle to Help Their Teenage Son Come to Terms with His Sexuality by John Schwartz, (great review of that hereRainbow Boys by Alex Sanchez and Geography Club by Brent Hartinger. My fantastic fellow presenter handled Oddly Normal (about which I had a lot of feelings and will probably need to write about later) and I led the discussion for Rainbow Boys and Geography Club.

there used to be more colors of cupcakes to go with the other rainbow colored food. Because… rainbows.

I think the thing I struggle with the most in these kinds of discussions is creating a vibe where no one gets defensive. I want to be able to educate my peers on queer issues without anyone feeling I’m lecturing them.  I never want to seem like an angry gay who hates all the straight/cis people. I just think about these things A LOT and so I know about them and hey let me tell you about stuff you might not have known/thought about. I want people to feel comfortable asking questions and speaking honestly. It can be hard when I’m also trying to explain the baggage of the word ‘queer’ and why using it as a non-queer person can get you into trouble. I’m not trying to tell you what to do, I just don’t want you to get yelled at for totally accidentally offending someone! I’m trying to help I swear!! So yeah. That’s a thing. But I think the presentation went well. I should review all those books because I have a lot of thoughts about them.We had some good conversations and talked about how everyone- gay, straight, cis, trans, blue, etc- can relate to the themes in most YA books.

Also there were cupcakes.

I’ve decided to try a new class that the Hothouse Yoga studio is offering called “Hot Barre.” As a dancer this excites me. Hopefully I’ll be able to walk tomorrow.

I don’t work any of my three jobs today, so it’s a homework night for me. I’m juggling lots of things. I’m trying to figure out how to actually do my desired metadata project (tweets!!) so I’ll spend time looking at that. Also continuing work to focus my YA lit paper. And I need to catch up on my Practicum Journal in a huge way.

 

Leave a Reply

