YALSA Book Challenge

2014_hub_reading_challenge_logo_participant

Not that I really need incentive for reading books, but I’m participating in YALSA The Hub’s Reading Challenge.

The challenge is to read at least 25 books from the list of award books recently announced at the ALA Midwinter conference, or as I call it – The Oscars for Book Nerds. Titles include winners or honor titles for the Schneider Family Book Award and the Stonewall Book Award and those on YALSA’s 2014 Best of the Best list (2014 winners and honor books for the Alex Award, Award for Excellence in Nonfiction, Margaret A. Edwards Award, Michael L. Printz Award, Odyssey Award, and William C. Morris Award, as well as the 2014 Top Ten Amazing Audiobooks, Best Fiction, Great Graphic Novels, Popular Paperbacks, and Quick Picks.)

I’ll be starting with the Stonewalls… because reasons.

I’m also hoping to read all the Rainbow List award books, and a whole bunch of our Juvenile Fiction since I’m slightly less well versed in JFic than YA.

And work 2 jobs… and have a life in there somewhere.

Anyway… I’m starting with Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kristin Cronn-Mills. I’ll be tracking all the books I read here, and reviewing most of them.

I’d love to hear about the books you’re reading! Leave ’em in the comments.

4 thoughts on “YALSA Book Challenge

  1. I’m reading Beautiful Music as my first choice, too. I really loved “Golden Boy,” which I think should win the adult fic Stonewall Award – though I don’t know if it qualifies since the main character is intersex, not LGBTQ. It was a very difficult read, but so well written.

  2. I just finished conquering the challenge a week or so ago (because overachiever). I have a stack of e-ARCs that I’m supposed to be reading, but you’ve inspired me to pick up Harry Potter again. Also, my cat is probably going to be medicated with Prozac soon, which I find rather depressing, so HP is a good fit for right now. Maybe my cat will get her letter and be swept off to the School of Not Peeing on the Walls.

    1. It’s been an interesting experience to reread the HPs. I haven’t read them in five years or so and I’m finding myself much more sympathetic to the adults in the series. Also I have all these new questions like where are the bathrooms in the dorms? Do Veela affect lesbians and gay men? Why doesn’t the library have some kind of search engine system? I’m on Half Blood Prince now and I’ll for sure be blogging about the re-read experience when I’m done!

      1. That’s an interesting question – where ARE the bathrooms in the dorms? It’s kind of like Star Trek – we never hear about anyone using the bathroom or showering. I know that Star Trek had sonic showers, but what did Hoqwarts do? The thing I’ve been wondering about is what do young kids in wizarding families do until they hit 11? Do they learn to read/write/do basic math? Are they homeschooled?

Leave a Reply

