No, I do not respect your opinion about homosexuality or women’s rights

I’m sure I don’t have to tell anyone about the clusterfuck of a minefield that SCOTUS opened with this Hobby Lobby case. And I’m sure no one is surprised that some people are already trying to take advantage of the ruling to discriminate against homos.

And the conversations that are spreading across the internet like wildfire make me livid.

I’m so sick of the talk about “respecting a diversity of viewpoints” on homosexuality and women’s rights.

I’m so. Fucking. Sick. Of. It.

If your viewpoint is that you don’t have to treat me as a citizen of this country and an equal human on this planet because of who I have sex with (not to mention that fact that I have ovaries instead of testicles) I do not respect that.

I DO NOT RESPECT THAT.

I respect your right to follow whatever religion you want and to believe whatever you want to believe about the things you should do or not do while following that religion.

I do not respect your opinion that you can take any action that affects other people’s rights while you are following your religion.

I respect that I am not allowed to control what goes on in your head.

I do not respect your opinion that you should be able to control what goes on in my bed.

I respect your right to believe that I am going to hell.

I do not respect your opinion that your beliefs are more important than my beliefs.

I respect your right to enact whatever criteria you want when deciding who to have personal relationships with in your personal life.

I do not respect your opinion that this should extend to deciding who to employee, how much to pay them and what benefits to provide.

I respect your right to want to only to interact with people who share your beliefs.

I do not respect your opinion that you can/should impose your beliefs on everyone around you in an attempt to find this magical bubble where everyone agrees with you.

I do not respect your opinion that existing in the world as I am and as I choose to imposes my beliefs on anyone or infringes on your rights.

I do not respect your opinion that we should all be the same and believe the same things.

I do not respect your arrogance in thinking that if you discriminate against LGBTQIUAP folk that is religious freedom, but if a law was passed saying that since Muslims don’t eat pork that they have the right to not employ anyone who eats pork you would obviously have a problem with that.

I do not respect your opinion that you have any say in what I do with my body short of using it to harm another being.

I do not respect your opinion that existing in the world as I am and as I choose to harms anyone in any way.

do not respect your opinion that men are allowed to enact laws that control women’s bodies and their right to properly take care of those bodies, while maintaining that any law made to control a man’s body is a breach of privacy.

I do not respect your opinion that you are entitled to wield financial power over others to force them to follow your personal beliefs.

I do not respect your opinion that some people are more equal than others.

I do not respect your opinion when it is rooted in such obvious hypocrisy.

The source of your objection to treating people equally, you say, comes from your religion which follows the Bible. So let’s take a look.

The Bible says:

“At the end of every seven years you shall grant a remission of debts.” (Deuteronomy 15:1)

So I’ll just stop paying my student loans now.

“Then Moses assembled all the congregation of the sons of Israel, and said to them, “These are the things that the LORD has commanded you to do: For six days work may be done, but on the seventh day you shall have a holy day, a sabbath of complete rest to the LORD; whoever does any work on it shall be put to death” (Exodus 35:1-2)

Did you check your work email last Sunday? Because you know what that means…

“and the pig, for though it divides the hoof, thus making a split hoof, it does not chew cud, it is unclean to you. ‘You shall not eat of their flesh nor touch their carcasses; they are unclean to you” (Leviticus 11:7-8)

No more pork for you. Ever. Or bacon. Let’s make a law forbidding bacon. Also we’ll have to end all football games because footballs are made from pig skin.

“you shall not sow your field with two kinds of seed, nor wear a garment upon you of two kinds of material mixed together.” (Leviticus 19:19)

Are you wearing a poly-cotton blend shirt? Guess we’ll have to burn you.

And if you’re about to counter with the argument that all these examples are Old Testament which was made unnecessary by the New Testament I have news for you:

What Jesus said about Homosexuality:

 

 

 

 

 

That’s right. Nothing. Not one single word.

 

You know what he did say?

He said:

“Love thy neighbor as thyself. There is no other commandment greater than these.” (Mark 12:31)

“In everything, therefore, treat people the same way you want them to treat you, for this is the Law and the Prophets.” (Matthew 7:12)

“This is my commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you.” (John 15:12)

“Truly I say to you, to the extent that you did it to one of these brothers of Mine, even the least of them, you did it to Me.” (Matthew 25:40)

 

Now, I don’t believe in god, in any god at all. But according to your own religion, your own “sincerely held beliefs” your arguments are hypocritical.

And once you stop trying to hide behind religion you will find NO legal or logical reason to discriminate.

So if your opinion is that it is okay for you to treat me as if I am lesser than you in any way—

 

No, I do not respect that.

 

jon stewart

One thought on “No, I do not respect your opinion about homosexuality or women’s rights

Leave a Reply

